## Minutes of the AMERICAN LEGION AUXILIARY <u>PRE-CONVENTION DEC MEETING</u> (April 24, 2019)

The meeting was called to order by President Debbie Lowndes at 7:04 p.m.

## ROLL CALL

## PRESENT:

## NATIONAL OFFICERS

National Executive Committeewoman Lisa Williamson Alternate National Executive Committeewoman Penny Mazonna

## **OFFICERS**

President Debbie Lowndes 1<sup>st</sup> Vice-President Jane Larson 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President Yvonne Lamm Secretary Barbara Nath Treasurer Diana Estrada Sergeant-at-Arms Lori Fruhwirth Chaplain Marge Blankenship Historian Ann Robinson Executive Committeewoman April Sinclair Executive Committeewoman Anne Foley

## STANDING COMMITTEES

Americanism Chair Sue Waldhaus Auxiliary Emergency Fund Chair Zona Gregg Children and Youth Chair Ann Robinson Community Service Chair Kathy Moore Constitution and Bylaws Chair Sue Diaz Distinguished Guests Chair Lisa Williamson Education and Scholarship Chair April Sinclair Finance Chair Jane Larson Girls State Chair Yvonne Lamm History Chair Ann Robinson Leadership Chair Colleen Newman Legislative Chair Marge Blankenship Membership Chair Yvonne Lamm National Security Chair Lisa Williamson Poppy Chair Lori Fruhwirth Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation (VA&R) Chair Jane Larson

## **ROLL CALL (continued)**

#### PRESENT:

## UNITS

Jack Henry Unit 1 Joseph T. Craig Unit 3 Seward Unit 5 Merlin Elmer Palmer Unit 6 Dorman H. Baker Unit 11 Lynn Canal Unit 12 General Buckner Unit 16 George H. Plumley Unit 20 Spenard Unit 28 Muldoon Unit 29 Con Miller Unit 30 Peters Creek Unit 33 Susitna Valley Unit 35 C. Russell Huber Unit 57

PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Lori FitzSimons Susan Caswell Carolyn Null Rehta Foster Lisa Williamson Sue Diaz Margaret Blankenship Penny Mazonna Sharon Cherrette Sue Waldhaus

## EXCUSED

STANDING COMMITTEES Audit Chair Linda Schmitt

#### PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS Linda Schmitt Barbe Wolkoff

Beverly Eads

## ABSENT

## STANDING COMMITTEES

Junior Activities Danielle Larson Past Presidents Parley Chair Barbe Wolkoff Public Relations Chair Lori Wolfe

## **ROLL CALL (continued)**

## ABSENT

UNITS Sitka Unit 13 Matanuska Valley Unit 15 Robert G. Blair Unit 17 Ninilchik Unit 18 Nome Unit 19 Gladys M Heintz Memorial Unit 27 Chappie James Unit 34 Peter Heyano Unit 442

#### PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Ruth Brown Evelyn Oliver Lavonne Collier Etta Singleton Jill Pawson Lynn Bash Eva Aulston Betty Bumala June Haas Jean Clayton Wilma Stokes Betty Randall

Laverne Kearns Betty Porter Judy Pusti Jean Shandy Francisca Guilford

## **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Some corrections were noted to the minutes for the October 28, 2018 meeting..

- Make sure roll call says Joseph T Craig
- Bottom of page 3 should show Lori Fruhwirth as the Poppy Chair.

There being no objections, the meetings were approved as corrected.

## **TREASURER'S REPORT**

Diana Estrada gave the Treasurer's report. It showed the balances for our accounts as of March 31, 2019.

General	
Gaming	19,974.33
Rehab	10,211.81
Girls State Checking	4,974.08
Girls State Savings	11,082.57
Merillyn Stock/Evelyn Oliver	16,067.69
Edward Jones Investments	87,349.93

# **UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

President Lowndes delivered certificates to Marge Blankenship and Barb Nath for entering the Senior Essay Contest.

A certificate was given to Marge Blankenship for her efforts to enlighten others.

## NEW BUSINESS

There was no New Business to come before the DEC.

## **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

- Lori Fruhwirth (Unit 11) explained that she would be unable to carry the flag during ceremonies. Penny Mazonna (Unit 33) agreed to do so and Shelby Lamm (Unit 33) will assist.
- Zona Gregg (Unit 6) challenged the rest of the Units to get paperwork turned in. She also noted that there would be a 50-50 raffle during the Department Convention.
- It was announced that joint opening ceremonies would begin a 9:00 a.m. on Thursday.
- All activities and meetings for the Department Convention will be held at the Arctic Recreation Center on Arctic.
- There are two black vans being used for shuttles from the hotels to the Arctic Recreation Center. Shuttles will begin at 6:00 a.m.
- Colleen Newman (Unit 35) will be collecting funds for the PPP Luncheon.
- Sharon Cherrette (Unit 29) will make sure the female Legionnaires know that they are invited to the PPP Luncheon. Department will cover their cost.
- Contest entries are due to the Sergeant-at-Arms on Thursday.
- Members were reminded to bring the socks for the Juniors for their project. They are giving socks to the Veterans. They should be new socks for both men and women.
- Members were reminded to bring in their Silent Auction items on Thursday.
- C. Russell Huber Unit 57 is doing a raffle for a 2019 Iron 88E Harley Davidson motorcycle. The prize for 2<sup>nd</sup> place is \$300 and the prize for third place is \$100.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no other business to come before the DEC Pre-Convention meeting, the meeting was adjourned at 7:35 p.m.